Open City Benefit

Photo credit: © Albert Vecerka/Esto

The Open City Benefit is a celebration of the power of place and new possibilities for our city.

On April 18, join hundreds of fellow Open House New Yorkers at the Open City Benefit, a celebration of North Javits: Rooftop Pavilion and Farm, part of the $1.5 billion expansion of the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. 

The Open City Benefit is Open House New York’s single largest source of support, making possible our work to promote broad, unparalleled access to the city—the places, people, projects, systems, and ideas that define New York and its future. And it is a ton of fun.

Thursday, April 18, 2024
North Javits: Rooftop Pavilion and Farm

Presenting Sponsor | $25,000
Project Sponsor | $15,000
Cultivator | $10,000
Pollinator | $5,000
Open House New York Duo | $3,000
Open House New Yorker | $1,250

Sponsorship levels and benefits can be found here. All but $300 per ticket is considered tax-deductible.

Please contact Alison Pirie at with questions.

Open City Award

The Open City Award honors the team behind a newly opened or opening place of singular importance to the past, present, and future of New York City. These are the significant projects, often born from visionary aspirations and years in the making, that embody the spirit of openness, access, vitality, and connectivity that symbolize New York’s continued growth, preeminence, and capacity for renewal. The Open City Award is conferred onsite at the Open City Benefit.

Jacob K Javits Convention Center, Green Roof, Location: New York NY, Architect: Richard Rogers and James Ingo Freed

North Javits: Rooftop Pavilion and Farm

Recognizing the design-build team behind the North Javits expansion.

Credit: Courtesy of Albert Vecerka/Esto

Powerhouse Arts

Recognizing the Design and Development team, led by:
Powerhouse Arts, Gemini Arts Initiative, Herzog & de Meuron, PBDW Architects, Urban Atelier Group, Buro Happold Engineering, and Silman.

2022 Open City Benefit, Jenna Bascom Photography

Moynihan Train Hall

Recognizing the team led by Client: Empire State Development and Vornado Realty Trust; Architects: Skidmore, Owings & Merrill; Engineers: Severud Assoc., Jaros Baum & Bolles, Schlaich Bergermann Partner; Construction: WSP, Skanska USA

2021 Open City Benefit, Jenna Bascom Photography

Governors Island

The Trust for Governors Island

2019 Open City Benefit, Jenna Bascom Photography

TWA Hotel

MCR and MORSE Development

Beyer Blinder Belle
INC Architecture & Design
Lubrano Ciavarra Architects
Mathews Nielsen Landscape Architects
Stonehill Taylor

2018 Open City Benefit, Kait Ebinger

Cornell Tech Campus

Cornell University

Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP
James Corner Field Operations

Emma and Georgina Bloomberg Center | Architects: Morphosis Architects; Engineers: Arup; Construction Manager: Barr & Barr

Tata Innovation Center | Developer: Forest City New York; Architects: Weiss/Manfredi Architecture/Landscape/Urbanism; Engineers: Thornton Tomasetti, Jaros Baum & Bolles; Construction Manager: Turner

The House at Cornell Tech | Developers: Related Companies, The Hudson Companies; Architects: Handel Architects; Engineers: BuroHappold; Construction Manager: Monadnock Construction Inc.