Open City Award Honorees

Launched in 2018 and conferred each spring at the Open City Benefit, the Open City Award honors the team behind a newly opened or opening project that makes a sizable contribution to quality of place. These are the singular projects, often born from visionary aspirations and years in the making, that embody the spirit of openness, access, and connectivity that are essential to New York’s continued growth and preeminence.

Jacob K Javits Convention Center, Green Roof, Location: New York NY, Architect: Richard Rogers and James Ingo Freed

North Javits: Rooftop Pavilion and Farm

Recognizing the design-build team behind the North Javits expansion led by

Lendlease Turner, WXY Studio, TVS, Moody Nolan, Stantec, Magnusson Klemencic Associates, and Jaros, Baum & Bolles. The award will be accepted on behalf of the project team by Alan Steel, President and CEO of the New York Convention Center Development Corporation.

Photo courtesy of PBDW Architects

Powerhouse Arts

Recognizing the Design and Development team, led by
Powerhouse Arts, Gemini Arts Initiative, Herzog & de Meuron, PBDW Architects, Urban Atelier Group, Buro Happold Engineering, and Silman.

Dave Burk / Aaron Fedor © Empire State Development

Moynihan Train Hall

Recognizing the Design and Development team, led by
Empire State Development
Vornado Realty Trust
Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
Skanska USA

view of Governors Island landscape

Governors Island

The Trust for Governors Island


TWA Hotel

MCR and MORSE Development

Beyer Blinder Belle
INC Architecture & Design
Lubrano Ciavarra Architects
Mathews Nielsen Landscape Architects
Stonehill Taylor

An aerial photo showing a large green lawn and office buildings on Roosevelt Island

Cornell Tech Campus

Cornell University

Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP
James Corner Field Operations

Emma and Georgina Bloomberg Center | Architects: Morphosis Architects; Engineers: Arup; Construction Manager: Barr & Barr

Tata Innovation Center | Developer: Forest City New York; Architects: Weiss/Manfredi Architecture/Landscape/Urbanism; Engineers: Thornton Tomasetti, Jaros Baum & Bolles; Construction Manager: Turner

The House at Cornell Tech | Developers: Related Companies, The Hudson Companies; Architects: Handel Architects; Engineers: BuroHappold; Construction Manager: Monadnock Construction Inc.

Previous OHNY Honorees


Scott Stringer, New York City Comptroller

Kathy Goldman, Food Bank for New York


Carl Weisbrod, Chair, New York City Planning Commission, and Director, Department of City Planning

John Edelman, Design Within Reach

Marc Kushner and Matthias Hollwich, Architizer


Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President

Cindy Allen, Interior Design Magazine

Barry Bergdoll, Museum of Modern Art


David Burney, NYC Department of Design and Construction

Susan Henshaw Jones, Museum of the City of New York

Frank Sciame, Sciame


Christine Quinn, New York City Council

Joshua David and Robert Hammond, The High Line

Tim Tompkins, Times Square Alliance


Leslie Koch, Trust for Governors Island

Red Grooms, Artist

Hugh Hardy, H3 Hardy Collaboration Architecture