Tata Innovation Center, Cornell Tech

Roosevelt Island, Manhattan

View Party Photos

Given for the first time this year, the Open City Award was created by Open House New York to recognize people and projects that contribute to a more accessible, equitable, and open city.

The inaugural Open City Award will be presented to the Cornell Tech campus on Roosevelt Island and highlight the five design components that make up its first phase. Cornell Tech is a model of 21st century campus design, fostering connectivity and collaboration; blurring the edges between academia and industry to create pioneering leaders and transformational new research, products, and social ventures; and opening itself up to its community–and to the city–through public spaces of beauty that set new standards for sustainability.


Hill West Architects
SilverLining Inc.
The Durst Organization
WXY architecture + urban design

Morphosis Architects
Shawmut Design & Construction, Luxury Homes
Abby Jo Sigal and Matthew Turner
Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP
SPAN Architecture
Margaret Sullivan
WEISS/MANFREDI Architecture/Landscape/Urbanism

ABC Stone
AE Greyson + Company, Inc.
Apogee Design & Construction
Architecture Research Office
Bob Baker
Beyer Blinder Belle Architects & Planners
Lori Bongiorno and Brent Rumage
BTR Innovative Builders Inc.
Alissa Bucher and Rob Rogers
Capalino + Company
Cristobal Correa
Dattner Architects
Kenneth Drucker, FAIA
Dorothy Dunn
Eurostruct Inc.
Jaros Baum & Bolles
Roy Kim and Clayton Crawley
Marc Kushner and Chris Barley
W.S. Lipschutz
Carol Loewenson
Sara Lopergolo and Edward Wood
Robin Lynn and Larry Blumberg
Miele Inc.
Timothy Quinlan
Robert A.M. Stern Architects, LLP
Rockwell Group
Sciame Construction, LLC
Preeti Sriratana
The Hudson Companies

ABS Engineering, PLLC
Donald Albrecht
Nina Edwards Anker
Gretchen Bank
BarlisWedlick Architects
David Bench
BuroHappold Engineering
Sara Caples and Everardo Jefferson
Polly Carpenter
Elaine Charnov
Columbia University, Office of Government and Community Affairs
John Curtis
Deborah Berke Partners
Denham Wolf Real Estate Services
Mark Diffley
Diller Scofidio + Renfro
Katie Dixon
Dornbracht Americas
Edison Properties
Fogarty Finger Architecture
Forest City New York
Frank and Marla Franzese, Silver Rail Construction
Suzanne Frye, MD
FXCollaborative Architects, LLP
Amy Gilfenbaum
Lela Goren
Randall Goya
Lisa J. Green
Sarah Haga
Mark Hage
Jamie Hammel, The Hudson Company
Handel Architects
Louise Harpman and Jonathan M.L. Stone
Hauser & Wirth
Tami Hausman and Jim Crispino
HFZ Capital
Hirschen Singer & Epstein LLP
H&L Electric
Howard Hughes Corporation
Tracey Hummer
Joshua Brandfonbrener Architect
David Keane PE, PC
Eve Klein
Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates
Iva M. Kravitz
Kokolakis Contracting
Kushner Studios Architecture + Design, PC
Scott Lauer and Jeff Hand
Levien & Company, Inc.
Doug and Kaisa Levine Family Support Foundation
Ligne Roset
Menaker & Herrmann LLP
Meyer Davis
MG and Company
Cynthia J. Miller, MD
Andrea Monfried and Mike Harshman
New York University
Caroline Otto
Mitch Paluszek
Avani Parikh, AIA
Jennifer Post
Radii Inc.
Timothy Reedy
Revival Sash
Madeleine Richard-Zahrey
Anne Rieselbach and Grant Marani
Sea-Dar Construction Corp.
Shimahara Illustration
Jamil Simon
Salvo Stoch
Studio Becker
Taconic Builders
Karen Tamir
Saundra P. Thomas
Thornton Tomasetti
Tillotson Design Associates, Inc.
Times Square Alliance
Turner Construction Company
Unifor Inc.
W.I. Van Campen
Lauren Wegel
Barbara Wilks

Tata Innovation Center
11 East Loop Road
New York, New York

directionsGet Directions