Reservations Required
In-Person

National Arts Club

Gramercy Park, Manhattan

Stained glass square dome ceiling
Credit: The National Arts Club

Sat, October 16th, 2021

10:00am — 10:30am
10:30am — 11:00am
11:00am — 11:30am
11:30am — 12:00pm
12:00pm — 12:30pm
12:30pm — 1:00pm
1:00pm — 1:30pm
1:30pm — 2:00pm
2:00pm — 2:30pm

The National Arts Club resides in the historic Samuel Tilden Mansion on Gramercy Park. Occupying both 14 and 15 Gramercy Park South, the original buildings were built in the 1840s.

Samuel J. Tilden, the 25th governor of New York and a one-time presidential candidate, acquired 15 Gramercy Park South in 1863. A few years later, he purchased the adjacent house and conjoined them into one home during a major renovation completed in 1884.

Tilden hired famed architect Calvert Vaux, one of the designers of Central Park, to modernize the façade with sandstone, bay windows, and ornamentation in the Aesthetic Movement style. John LaFarge created stained-glass panels for the interior of the mansion; and sculptors from the firm of Ellin and Kitson created elaborate fireplace surrounds, bookcases, and doors. Glass master Donald MacDonald fashioned a unique stained-glass dome for Tilden’s library; it crowns the room where the bar is now located. The building is both a New York City and a National Historic Landmark.

Open House New York visitors are welcome to tour the Club’s private parlors and dining room, which feature many historic architectural details and artworks from the permanent collection. Visitors may also explore the current art exhibitions, including artworks by Andy Warhol, in the Club’s newly renovated galleries.

The tour will be led by architect Chien Dao, see bio below.

Tour includes one flight of stairs.

The health and safety of our community is paramount. Proof of COVID-19 vaccination with ID and a mask is required for ALL in-person experiences. See guidelines: https://ohny.org/covid-19-update/

Chien Dao is an architect and Chair of The National Arts Club Architecture Committee.

c. 1840s; renovated 1884

Location revealed in reservation information