National Arts Club – Virtual
Take a video tour of The National Arts Club. The NAC resides in the historic Samuel Tilden Mansion on Gramercy Park. Occupying both 14 and 15 Gramercy Park South, the original buildings were built in the 1840s.
Samuel J. Tilden, the 25th governor of New York and a one-time presidential candidate, acquired 15 Gramercy Park South in 1863. A few years later, he purchased the adjacent house and conjoined them into one home during a major renovation completed in 1884.
Tilden hired famed architect Calvert Vaux, one of the designers of Central Park, to modernize the façade with sandstone, bay windows, and ornamentation in the Aesthetic Movement style. John LaFarge created stained-glass panels for the interior of the mansion. and sculptors from the firm of Ellin and Kitson created elaborate fireplace surrounds, bookcases, and doors. Glass master Donald MacDonald fashioned a unique stained-glass dome for Tilden’s library; it crowns the room where the bar is now located. The building is both a New York City and a National Historic Landmark.
c. 1840s; renovated 1884