2022 Open City Award: The Moynihan Train Hall Team

This year, OHNY is conferring the award to the Moynihan Train Hall Design and Development Team, led by Empire State Development, Skidmore Owings & Merrill, Vornado Realty Trust, and Skanska USA, for their visionary and steadfast efforts to realize an incredible asset for New Yorkers and visitors alike.

The Open City Award will be conferred alongside the President’s Award and Building Capital Award during the 2022 Open City Benefit taking place at Moynihan Train Hall on June 9, 2022.

About the Moynihan Train Hall Team

Moynihan Train Hall is one of the most monumental civic projects undertaken in New York City in a generation. More than a century after the construction of the original Penn Station, and almost six decades after its demolition, the opening of the Train Hall in 2021 realized a long-held New York dream.

The project, championed by the visionary Senator Daniel Patrick Moynihan in the 1990s, expands the existing Penn Station with a 255,000-square-foot, modern rail hub inside the Beaux-Arts Farley Building. The design, led by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill, honors the historic Farley Building while creating a beautiful and uplifting 21st Century gateway for New Yorkers and visitors alike.

Not only is Moynihan Train Hall is a globally celebrated civic icon decades in the making, it is also exemplary of OHNY’s core values: promoting access and the power of place.

Moynihan Train Hall was named Top 2022 Engineering Achievement by the American Council of Engineering Companies.

Moynihan Train Hall Team


Empire State Development in a public-private partnership with Vornado Realty Trust, The Related Companies, the Metropolitan Transportation Authority, the Long Island Rail Road, Amtrak, and the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey


Construction Management


Structural Engineering


Skylight Engineering

Rail Engineering

Civil/Geotechnical Engineering

Historic Preservation

Historic Building Restoration

Lighting Design

Graphics and Wayfinding


Train Hall Clock Design

Public Art

Amtrak Metropolitan Lounge

Amtrak Ticketed Waiting Area

Security Design

Vertical Transportation

Baggage Handling Systems

Industrial Design

Brand Identity

Code Consultants/Radio Design

Skidmore, Owings & Merrill


Skanska USA

Severud Associates

Jaros Baum & Bolles

Schlaich Bergermann Partner

Systra Consulting, Inc.

Langan Engineering &
Environmental Services, Inc.

Building Conservation Associates, Inc.

Higgins & Quasebarth

Domingo Gonzalez Associates

Pentagram/Mijksenaar USA

Cerami & Associates

Peter Pennoyer Architects

Public Art Fund with Stan Douglas, Elmgreen & Dragset, Kehinde Wiley


Rockwell Group

Thornton Tomasetti/Weidlinger Protective Design Practice/Ducibella Venter & Santore

Van Deusen & Associates

BNP Associates, Inc.

Billings Jackson Design

Watson & Co.

Code Consultants Professional Engineers, PC

About the Open City Award

Each year, Open House New York recognizes a place of singular importance to the past, present, and future of New York City with the Open City Award.

Launched in 2018 and conferred each spring at the Open City Benefit, the Open City Award honors the team behind a newly opened or opening project that makes a sizable contribution to quality of place. These are the singular projects, often born from visionary aspirations and years in the making, that embody the spirit of openness, access, and connectivity that are essential to New York’s continued growth and preeminence.